You are here: 
UK General Election 1983

Also find us on

Make a donation
to PHS

The Institute
of Polish
Military History

More information

 A message from our President, General Lord Guthrie of Craigiebank

'I am delighted to be associated with the work of the Polish Heritage Society and very honoured to serve as its President. The Society's work highlights the enormous contribution which generations of Poles have made to their adopted country. Preserving and celebrating that heritage will only further strengthen the ties between Poland and the United Kingdom.

I worked closely with the Society on the project to build a memorial to the Polish Forces at the National Memorial Arboretum and saw at first hand the energy and dedication of those involved.

I encourage you to explore this website and learn about the many other projects the Society has sponsored. Do please contact us if you would like to be involved in any way'.

General The Lord Guthrie of Craigiebank GCB LVO OBE

A Debt of Dishonour is a unique documentary film dedicated Major General Sosabowski and all ranks who served in the 1st Polish Independent Parachute Brigade Group and to their Comrades-in-Arms of the 1st British Airborne Division that fought in the ill-fated “Operation Market Garden” at Arnhem and Driel during September 1944.

Sto Lat-Albert Hall


UK General Election 1983

General Election Summary – 09 June 1983


(A) Members of Parliament Polish MPs %
  397 Conservative Party 1 0.25%
  209 Labour Party NIL  
  17 Liberal  NIL  
  6 Social Democrats NIL  
  21 Other Parties NIL  
  Total = 650 MPs Total = 1 Polish MP Total = 0.15%
(B) Election Candidates Polish Candidates %
  633 Conservative 1 0.16%
  633 Labour 1 0.16%
  633 Liberal  1 0.16%
  633 Social Democrat  NIL  
  520 Other Parties  NIL  
  Total = 3,052 Candidates Total = 3 Polish Candidates Total = 0.10%
(C) Total Votes = 30,661,309 3 Polish Candidates = 29,358 votes 0.09% of Total Votes


PHS_logo_subhead3 Polish Candidates in 1983 General Election


  Name Constituency Party Result Votes Vote Share Majority
1 Stefan Terlezki Cardiff West Conservative Elected 15,472 38% 1,774
2 P. Miernik Ipswich Liberal 3rd 7,220 14.2%  
3 Wiktor Moszczynski Bury St. Edmunds Labour 3rd 6,666 12.7%  

Dataset compiled by Christopher Marek Rencki FRAI
© 2011 - 2021 The Polish Heritage Society UK Ltd. Registerd Charity No. 1143791. Contact: