You are here: 
UK General Election October 1974

Also find us on

Make a donation
to PHS

The Institute
of Polish
Military History

More information

 A message from our President, General Lord Guthrie of Craigiebank

'I am delighted to be associated with the work of the Polish Heritage Society and very honoured to serve as its President. The Society's work highlights the enormous contribution which generations of Poles have made to their adopted country. Preserving and celebrating that heritage will only further strengthen the ties between Poland and the United Kingdom.

I worked closely with the Society on the project to build a memorial to the Polish Forces at the National Memorial Arboretum and saw at first hand the energy and dedication of those involved.

I encourage you to explore this website and learn about the many other projects the Society has sponsored. Do please contact us if you would like to be involved in any way'.

General The Lord Guthrie of Craigiebank GCB LVO OBE

A Debt of Dishonour is a unique documentary film dedicated Major General Sosabowski and all ranks who served in the 1st Polish Independent Parachute Brigade Group and to their Comrades-in-Arms of the 1st British Airborne Division that fought in the ill-fated “Operation Market Garden” at Arnhem and Driel during September 1944.

Sto Lat-Albert Hall


UK General Election October 1974

General Election Summary – 10 October 1974


(A) Members of Parliament Polish MPs %
  319 Labour NIL  
  277 Conservative Party NIL  
  13 Liberal  NIL  
  26 Other Parties NIL  
  Total = 635 MPs Total = No Polish MPs Total = NIL
(B) Election Candidates Polish Candidates %
  623 Labour 1 0.16%
  622 Conservative 1 0.16%
  619 Liberal  NIL   
  460 Other Parties NIL  
  Total = 2,324 Candidates Total = 2 Polish Candidates Total = 0.08%
(C) Total Votes = 29,189,104 2 Polish Candidates = 22,996 votes 0.08% of Total Votes


PHS_logo_subhead2 Polish Candidates in October 1974 General Election

  Name Constituency Party Result Votes Vote Share Majority
  October 1974 : No Polish MPs           
1 Stefan Terlezki Cardiff South East Conservative 2nd 10,356 25.7%  
2 Denis MacShane (Denis Matyjaszek) Solihul Labour 3rd 12,640 21%  

Dataset compiled by Christopher Marek Rencki FRAI
© 2011 - 2021 The Polish Heritage Society UK Ltd. Registerd Charity No. 1143791. Contact: